Turkish Actor Turkish Celebrity

Taner Birsel Career & Biography | Age, Height, Movie More

Taner Birsel is a Turkish film actor, who was born in 1959 in Akhisar, Turkey.  He is well known for his work in the film “Once Upon A Time in Anatolia” (2011), “The Confession: Tales About Darkness II” (2002), The Butterfly’s Dream” (2013) and “A Run For Money” (1999).


Name               : Taner Birsel

Born                : 1959

Birth Place      : Akhisar, Turkey

Height             : 6’ 2” (1.88 m)

Occupation      : Film and Theatre Actor

Years Active   : 1985 – Present

Nationality      : Turkish

Education        : Mimar Sinan Fine Arts University

Spouse             : Ilknur Birsel

Education and Career:

Taner Birsel completed his graduation in journalism and public relations from 1976 – 1980. Then he studied Performing Arts at the Conservatory of Mimar Sinan Fine Arts University, Istanbul from 1981 – 1985. He has performed in more than 40 plays in Istanbul State Theater since 1985. His notable plays include, “King Lear”, “Cyrano de Bergerac”, “Hamlet”, “Ay Isiginda Samata”, and “The Death of Danton”.

Birsel has also starred in many films and TV series since 1995. He appeared in “The Confession”, which was screened in the UN Certain Rehard section at the “Cannes Film Festival” in 2002. He is well known for his career in the motion pictures.

In 1999, he worked as a screenwriter and director in the film “Secret File” with Mehmet Gunsur, Ayca Bingol and Zafer Ergin. He has starred in the film Once “Upon a Time in Anatolia” which was directed by Muhammet Ozuner, Firat Tanis, Yilmaz Erdogan and Ercan Kesar in 2011.

In the year 2017, Taner Birsel has worked in “Ayla”, Which is under post production.


Theater Plays: 

  • King Lear 
  • How I am Ruhi Bey 
  • Maids 
  • Arturo Ui’s Preventable Climb 
  • Cyrano de Bergerac 
  • Shamata in the moonlight 
  • Hamlet 
  • The West Side Story 
  • Afife Jale 
  • Abdulcanbaz 
  • Oresteia 
  • Death of Danton


  • Liar Dawn (TV Series) (1990) 
  • A Woman’s Anatomy (1995) 
  • Anatomy of an Erke (1996) 
  • Glyce File (TV Series) (1999) 
  • How Many coins (1999) 
  • Filler and Grass (2001) 
  • She Also Loves Me (2001)
  • The Waterfall (2001) 
  • The Confession: Tales About Darkness II (2002) 
  • Revolutionary Cars (2008) 
  • The Shadowless (2009) 
  • Island: Zombies’ wedding (2010) 
  • Black and White (2010) 
  • Our Grand Despair (2011)
  • Once Upon a Time in Anatolia (2011)
  • Oyle Bir Gecer Zaman ki (TV Series) (2010-2011)
  • The Butterfly’s Dream (2013)
  • Ayla (post-production) (2017)


  • 21st Turkish Film Critics Association (SİYAD) award for the Best Actor in 1999.
  • 21st Istanbul Film Festival award for the Best Actor in 1999.
  • 24th Turkish Film Critics Association (SİYAD) award for the Best Actor (confession) in 2002.
  • Avni Dilligil Theater awards for the Best Actor. 
  • National Theater Meeting award for the Best Actor.

Personal Life:

Taner Birsel is married to Ilknur Birsel. Since 2002, they had settled in Bodrum.

Taner Birsel

You May Also Read

Anupam Kher Biography

kader khan Career

Ilker Aksum

Photo ofTaner Birsel
Taner Birsel
Job Title

Like Us On Facebook

Like Us On Facebook